Better Work Comp Quotes
Or Have an Agent Contact You:
*Required

Is Workers' Comp Required in Utah

Utah Workers Compensation Requirements

    All employers in the state of Utah are required to carry Workers' Compensation Coverage.

    Sole Proprietors, Partners and LLC Members are excluded from coverage, but may elect to be included for coverage.

    Sole Proprietors or partnerships who have no employees other than the sole proprietor or partner are not required to purchase Workers Comp. If these businesses are contracting work through a general contractor they or the general contractor will be required to provide a workers' compensation insurance certificate.

    Corporate Officers are included for coverage, but may elect to be excluded if certain conditions are met. (As of 2013, corporations with no employees except directors and officers are allowed to exclude themselves from coverage, but there is a limit of 5 officers and directors that may be excluded.)

    Directors or officers of a corporation are considered employees and must exclude themselves from coverage through an insurance company.

    All General Contractors are required to ensure that all his subcontractors; including sole proprietorships, partners and corporate officers, have work comp coverage. If they do not have workers compensation coverage then the subcontractor becomes an employee of the general contractor. In this case the general contractor must carry work comp coverage.

Workers' Comp Exemptions in Utah

    Sole-Proprietors and Partners who include themselves on workers compensation coverage must use a payroll amount of $45,700 for rating purposes (Accurate as of 3/1/2019, last updated by the state on 1/1/2019.

    Corporate Officers and LLC Members who are not included for coverage must utilize a minimum annual payroll of $46,800 and a maximum payroll of $182,000 in order to calculate the cost of workers comp insurance. (Accurate as of 3/1/2019, last updated by the state on 1/1/2019)


UT Work Comp Insurance- click or call!

m-f 8am-5pm CST 888-611-7467

Start a workers compensation insurance quote online.
How is Workers Comp Calculated?

Workers' compensation is a commercial insurance product categorized as Property & Casualty insurance (P&C Insurance). Even though workers comp is calculated using estimated payroll wages and class codes, premium is still a separate business expense from the cost of payroll. Business owners may treat the cost of coverage as an expense on their taxes.

Work comp rates for all job classification codes are always expressed as a percentage of $100 in wages. An annual policy is always subject to an audit because it was based on estimated wages and not actual wages.

Here is an example using two class codes with different estimated payroll for each class code:

Class Code Insurance Companies Rate Per $100 Estimated Annual Payroll Divide Payroll by 100
8810 Clerical $0.28 base manual rate $25,000  (25000 divided by 100) 250
8835 Home Health Care $1.75 base manual rate $100,000  (100000 divided by 100) 1000

In order to calculate the cost of the policy you only need to multiply each rate with its divided payroll. It benefits employers to re-calculate their premium as their payroll becomes larger than originally anticipated.

Class Code Workers Comp Calculator Estimated Premium
8810 Clerical $0.28 X 250 $70.00
8835 Home Health Care $1.75 X 1000 $1,750.00
Workers' Compensation Laws Vary by State

Every state has their own rules for how employees must be covered and how they must be classified for rating premium. A lot of states use state specific class codes and have different requirements for who is obligated to carry workers' compensation insurance coverage.

If you have employees that travel out of state for work, or they work in multiple states throughout the year, you may need to purchase insurance for all the states where your workers are located and working. In most cases, you can add multiple states to one policy.

Workers' Compensation Insurance in Utah can be purchased from private insurance companies authorized by the state to provide coverage. The Assigned Risk Pool, or State Insurance Fund, is available for employers who are unable to find coverage from a private company. WorkersCompensationShop.com can help you navigate your best options.

Policy premium is based on numerous factors including: class codes assigned to your business and employees, estimated payroll, covered states, prior policies, owner experience and previous insurance claims.

Enjoy the benefits of our Pay As You Go Workers' Comp Options in Utah.

$O Deposit or Minimum Down

We've developed Pay As You Go workers compensation programs that reduce or eliminate premium deposits and allow Utah employers to report and pay premium based on actual payroll wages. Protect your business from audits.

Lower Monthly Payments

We've negotiated special deals with many of our insurance partners. We offer more flexible payment options, like 12 equal installments plans and monthly reporting programs, to help improve cash flow for our business owners.

Fast and Accurate Quotes

At Workers Compensation Shop.com, we know exactly which insurance companies have the lowest cost for every class code available. Our rate tracking system helps us quote your business with the right carriers every time.

Utah Workers Compensation Insurance Quotes

UT Workers' Comp Specialists

Workers' Compensation Insurance Rates in Utah are very good compared to the national average. As of 2014 rates were 29 percent lower than the rest of the country. Even though rates are good, many businesses miss out on several cost saving programs for their workers comp coverage.

Help with UT Class Codes

Insurance rates vary significantly between NCCI classification codes. Let our UT Workers Compensation Specialists help you determine your correct workers compensation class codes before you buy a policy. We'll help make sure your business is properly covered.

Fast Workers' Comp Quotes

We make the process of getting workers compensation quotes fast and easy. We know your time is valuable. That's why we work harder to streamline the quote process, compare your rates and coverages, and present your best options as quickly as possible. We often have your insurance quotes ready in less than 24 hours.

Compare Rates With More Carriers

We're a National Agency, and we have tons of carriers offering work comp in Utah. We have access to over 35 insurance companies with a diverse appetite and competitive rates. Our markets know we expect the lowest rates, bigger discounts, and more policy credits when we request a quote.

THE RIGHT QUOTE MAKES A DIFFERENCE.

A BETTER WAY TO BUY
WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE
Did you know that the cost of a workers comp policy in Utah can vary significantly between insurance company, underwriter, and insurance agency?
Find the best deal on workers compensation insurance.
Visit NCCI for more resources and information about workers' compensation class codes. Visit United States Department of Labor for more information about government agencies managing workers compensation insurance rates.

Copyright 2020 Workers Compensation Shop.com. All rights reserved.
California DBA: I-Shop Online Insurance Agency.
Top rated insurance agency- BBB. Pay for workers comp insurance with a credit card. Workers Compensation Shop on Facebook. Workers Compensation Shop on LinkedIn. Workers Compensation Shop on Twitter.