North Dakota Workers Compensation
Buy affordable workers' compensationcoverage for other states.
North Dakota Workers Comp ProgramsLearn about Workers Compensation Shop.com programs available in North Dakota.
ND Workers Comp RatesFind your state workers compensation rates and class codes for North Dakota.
North Dakota Workers Comp FormsView and complete ND workers compensation forms and applications.
ND Workers Comp InformationFind more information about North Dakota workers compensation insurance.
Get Started Here !
The state of North Dakota is one of the four remaining monopolistic states left in the country. Nevada and West Virginia were last two states to move from a monopolistic State Fund to an open market system allowing competition from private insurance companies. This means workers' compensation insurance can only be purchased through the North Dakota State Fund State Fund, Workforce Safety and Insurance (WSI). If you are a North Dakota employer, or you are doing work in the state of North Dakota, you will need to contact Workforce Safety and Insurance in order to purchase workers' compensation insurance coverage:
Although our Agency can't help ND employers find workers comp coverage in the state, we often help North Dakota business owners purchase other state workers' comp coverage. If you are a North Dakota employer doing business outside of the state, or you have employees who live outside the state, please contact one of our Workmen's Comp Specialists at 888-611-7467 to find affordable a workers' compensation quotes for other states.
SHOP COMP LIKE THE
BUSINESS PRO YOU ARE
North Dakota is a Monopolistic State
North Dakota Rating
North Dakota has a unique provision for developing workers compensation rates and manual premium for coverage. Workers' compensation premiums are assessed only on the first $35,600 of wages per employee. There is no additional premium for wages or salaries over $35,600 (as of Jan 1, 2016).
North Dakota Class Codes
Like other monopolistic states, North Dakota does not utilize NCCI classification codes like most states that allow private insurance carriers to compete. This often creates problems when doing business in other states. Employers can follow this link to view the most recent North Dakota Classification Manual.
Quick Workers Comp Quotes
We make the process of getting workers compensation quotes fast and easy. We know your time is valuable. That's why we work harder to streamline the quote process, compare your rates and coverages, and present your best options as quickly as possible. We often have your insurance quotes ready in less than 24 hours.
Shop Over 35 National Carriers
We're a National Agency, and we have tons of carriers offering work comp in other states near North Dakota. We have access to over 35 insurance companies with a diverse appetite and competitive rates. Our markets know we expect the lowest rates and more credits when we request a quote.
THE RIGHT QUOTE MAKES A DIFFERENCE.
SHOP COMP LIKE THE
BUSINESS PRO YOU ARE
Purchasing Workers Comp Insurance in North Dakota
2019 North Dakota Coverage Information
- North Dakota employers with any employee(s) are required by law to purchase workers compensation insurance. This includes seasonal, occasional, part-time, and full-time employees.
- Sole-Proprietors and Partners are automatically excluded from workers' compensation coverage, but they can elect to be covered on a policy. This includes spouses and children under 22 years of age. Requires ND coverage contract for inclusion.
- Corporate Officers and LLC Members are also automatically excluded from work comp coverage, but they may elect to be included. Requires ND coverage contract for inclusion.
- All companies with any full or part-time employees are required to purchase workers compensation insurance in ND.
2019 Payroll Requirements for Owners
- Sole-Proprietors and Partners who include themselves on workers compensation coverage must use a payroll amount of $35,600 for rating purposes. (As of 01/01/2019)
- Officers and LLC Members who are not excluded from coverage must utilize a minimum payroll of $35,600 for the purpose of rating workers comp premium. (As of 01/01/2019)