Get Better Quotes 35+
Real Experts- Trusted
Virginia State law requires most employers to purchase workers' comp coverage to protect injured employees. Coverage provides an exclusive remedy for the employer. This means that employees can only typically only file a claim against the insurance policy rather than the employer. In return, employees get faster resolutions for claims.
Employers who regularly employ more than two part or full-time employees are required to provide coverage. Coverage is mandatory and they are no waivers or exceptions.
Contractors run a particular risk when they utilize sub-contractors to assist with their work. Sub-contractors must be counted as employees unless the employer can provide Proof of Workers' Comp Coverage for the subcontractor.
Virginia Worker' Compensation Commission1000 DMV DriveRichmond, VA 23220877-664-2566
The mininimum limits for employers liabilty coverage under a workers' comp policy in VA is $100,000/$500,000,$100,000.
Corporate Officers and LLC Members
Family members working for the business
Temporary, seasonal, and part-time employees
Minors and undocumented workers
Workers for churches, charities, and non-profits
Employers and contractors who pay other sub-contractors using a form 1099 does not guarantee they will not be liable for coverage or claims. The 1099 employee designation is not important under VA workers' comp rules. If the facts around the working relationship demonstrate that employer control exists, an employee relationship is established.
Sole-Proprietors With No Employees
Sole-proprietors with no employees or sub-contractors are not required to purchase coverage. The may opt to voluntary obtain a policy. No exemption or waiver of coverage is needed for sole-proprietors.
Workers' Compensation Rates are set each year by the VA Bureau of Insurance. However, Virginia also allows private insurance companies to offer additional discounts and credits on each policy. This means that rates can vary by insurer. The best way to obtain the best prices on coverage is to utilize a licensed insurance agency willing to negotiate better credits for your business, like Workers Compensation Shop.com.
Virginia requires that all out-of-state employers doing work in the state have proper state coverage. The state requires the Virginia to the policy under Item 3a. This item and section lists the states where the business performs work and therefore insures coverage. If an insurance carrier is unwilling to add Virginia under Item 3a of the policy it generally means they are not licensed to provide coverage in the state. Employer will need a second policy from an insurance company licensed in VA, or they will need a carrier that can provide coverage for all necessary states.
Virginia rules require that all insurance companies give an additional 5% policy discount for all Virginia employers who operate a drug-free workplace. Contact your insurance company to get the requirements and form needed to file for this discount.
Create a quick and easy Drug Free Workplace Policy in less than 30 minutes. It's 100% free and provided by the U.S. Department of Labor.
Virginia Employers who fail to purchase or maintain the proper workers' compensation insurance may be subject to civil penalties up to $250 for each day they are uninsured. The maximum penalty is $50,000. They may also be held liable for the cost of any claims that happen while uninsured. Repeat offenders may result in criminal prosecution and business revocation.
The Virginia Workers Compensation Commission now offers a free coverage verification tool to assist individuals with verifying coverage for a business by name or Federal ID Number. The tool must be launched from a page on the Commission's website at www.vwc.state.va.us/. The link is on the left side under VWC Resources. The tool is called: Insurance Coverage Search.
For additional information or questions about workers compensation insurance in Virginia, contact one of our workers' comp Specialists at 888-611-7467.
To avoid lapse in coverage and consistent with prudent insurance practices, The state of Virginia “encourages” insurers to consider the following actions: relax premium due dates, extend premium payment grace period, waive late fees and penalties, and allow premium payment plans. Only cancel/nonrenew a policy after exhausting other reasonable efforts.
Discretionary order in effect from 03/27/2020 until further notice.
No current state orders.
Specialized Programs for Select Industries
We work with our national insurance partners to develop targeted programs with easier underwriting
requirements and lower rates. We offer a broad range of business class codes that help streamline the
quote process so you get the lowest price for coverage.
Easy Workers' Comp Insurance Programs
Save money and get better coverage faster.
Pay As You Go Work Comp
See how Pay As You Go coverage helps with cashflow.
Coverage is mandatory in VA.
NCCI is the State Rating Bureau.
Private insurance carriers are allowed.
Self-Insurance is permitted, if authorized.
There is no State Fund in VA
VA does not recognize State Reciprocity
NCCI administers the Assigned Risk Program
We write Assigned Risk coverage in VA.
Let Workers Compensation Shop.com help your business navigate workers' comp insurance in Virginia.
From ownership rules, class code reviews, to managing audits & claims, we've got your
Our technology matches your business with insurance companies most likely to offer the best
We leverage our experience and relationships to negotiate your lowest workers' comp rates.
No carrier quotes every class code. That's why we've built a diverse group of great
Employers liability insurance is an additional layer of coverage included as part of a workers' compensation
insurance policy. Employers Liability is known as Part 2 of the policy. It adds two additional coverages for employers:
Employers Legal Liability and Legal Defense Costs
In today's world, there are a variety of reasons employees and third-parties sue employers for damages. Here a
some common types covered by employers liability insurance:
Third Party Lawsuits
Your employee sues another party that may have contributed to the injury, In turn, the third party sues your
Consequential Bodily Injury
Another party or individual is injured while providing care for the injured employee.
Dual Capacity Legal Action
An employee files a claim but also attempts to sue the employer for being responsible in other ways outside of
the employment relationship.
Loss of Consortium
A spouse sues for damages caused by the loss of companionship or relations.
Employers Liability coverage is not included with coverage in the four monopolistic states. Employers
in these states can endorse this coverage onto their General Liability policy. That coverage is commonly known as Stop Gap
Get more information about workers' compensation in Virginia:
Workers Compensation Info
Workers Comp Programs
National Broker Services